BOOK REVIEW: Sam Hooker “Peril in the Old Country”

41HN8lZHsxLTitle: Peril in the Old Country

Author: Sam Hooker

Genre: Dystopian/Fantasy

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 

This is a very strange book, but absolutely perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman or Douglas Adams. It’s quirky; the dialogue is sharp and witty, and there are a plethora of fun and interesting characters.

The story itself was interesting but the writing was odd. Not necessarily bad, but could be off-putting. Some of the language used borders on pretentious if I’m honest, and the prose a bit flowery. I wish the plot had moved along at a better pace, but otherwise this was very silly and easy to get into.

I also find the cover extremely adorable; very Tim Burton-esq. I expected the content to be a little darker based on the cover art, but I’m not complaining! I think it was very fitting.

An e-copy of this book was provided by Black Spot Books and Smith Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for a review. Thank you!

 

Purchase the book: Amazon | Black Spot Books

Meet the author: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

Advertisements