BOOK REVIEW: Sam Hooker “Peril in the Old Country”

41HN8lZHsxLTitle: Peril in the Old Country

Author: Sam Hooker

Genre: Dystopian/Fantasy

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 

This is a very strange book, but absolutely perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman or Douglas Adams. It’s quirky; the dialogue is sharp and witty, and there are a plethora of fun and interesting characters.

The story itself was interesting but the writing was odd. Not necessarily bad, but could be off-putting. Some of the language used borders on pretentious if I’m honest, and the prose a bit flowery. I wish the plot had moved along at a better pace, but otherwise this was very silly and easy to get into.

I also find the cover extremely adorable; very Tim Burton-esq. I expected the content to be a little darker based on the cover art, but I’m not complaining! I think it was very fitting.

An e-copy of this book was provided by Black Spot Books and Smith Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for a review. Thank you!

 

Purchase the book: Amazon | Black Spot Books

Meet the author: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

February 2018 Wrap-Up

Well lookie there, it’s the end of February already! I haven’t written a wrap-up post in quite a while but I suppose now is as good a time as any to remedy that. Unfortunately, if I go on about every book I read in February, I would be here a while: I read a total of 20 books!

Now, I’ve had quite a bit of time on my hands lately so this makes sense. I’ve only just recently started school but even that isn’t taking up too much of my time. My husband is going to be leaving for 4 months in March (he’s military so he’s going on a mission), which means I will be left alone with even more time on my hands. I’m going to knock this 100-book reading goal out in no time.

untitledFirst book I read was Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu. This one was so much fun, and a vast improvement on the first DC Icons book by Leigh Bardugo (I’m sorry, queen.) I wrote a full review of this actually, so you can check that out here.

The-ForgettingNext up was a DNF, The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron. I don’t typically write full reviews for DNF unless I feel obligated to (an arc copy) or if I feel like there’s a reason for the DNF that needed to be touched on.

I had very high hopes for this book. It had a very intriguing concept and a beautiful cover, but the execution was awful. I was so bored and turned off by the writing that about 20% of the way through, I couldn’t handle it anymore.

TOG-NYT-CoverMy first and only reread of the month of February was Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. This is one of my favorite series and I’m actually rereading one book a month in preparation for the release of the final installment in October of this year! I am so excited for the conclusion of this series but so sad to say goodbye to some of my favorite characters. Seeing as it’s been about 5 years since I read Throne of Glass for the first time, I thought it would be a good idea to reacquaint myself with the story once more.

SerenityTPBCoverAlso this month, I was on quite the graphic novel kick. I found some Firefly comics at my local library and absolutely had to check them out! There were four of them total, two I read in physical form and the other two I found digitally online. I binged the whole dang series this month, which wasn’t difficult since they were all very short. Still, it was a very sentimental read and it made me happy to see some of these characters again. The last book, Leaves on the Wind, was set after the events of Serenity, which was like a stab to the heart but a bandage all at once. If you’re a fan of the TV show Firefly, definitely check these out!

falling-kingdoms-morgan-rhodesContinuing with my Falling Kingdoms binge read, I finished Frozen Tides and Crystal Storm, books four and five in the series. I started this series in January and never reviewed it because I figured I would write a complete series review once I read Immortal Reign next month. I continue to have mixed feelings about the books, of the conclusion that while the story is very interesting, the characters are incredibly flat and I care about literally none of them. Oh, and the insta-love is real.

33784373Hunting Prince Dracula was a book I was excited to read this month but ended up being disappointed by. After the amazingness that was Stalking Jack the Ripper, I was so sure I was going to love the second book but was so wrong. Still, it wasn’t enough to scare me away from the rest of the series. Keep ’em coming, Maniscalco!

71fXyrRrXCLAmy and Roger’s Epic Detour was yet another DNF and a disappointment. Hunting Prince Dracula put me in a terrible slump and I chose a Morgan Matson book to hopefully pull me out of it. Sadly, I discovered that road trip books are not my thing, and this book only sunk me deeper. DNF’d at about the halfway mark.

36986066Worst Case by Beck Anderson is sadly another DNF for the month of February. (Hey, I’ve got a life. And I already make myself miserable, why do I want to force myself to read books that make me miserable, too?) I just wasn’t into the writing style or the characters. Couldn’t bring myself to finish.

25041504After You, the sequel to Me Before You, was picked up on a trial basis. Me Before You made me so angry, but I loved Lou’s character and wanted to see her happy and well. Unfortunately based on the opening chapters, it was obvious that I wasn’t going to like the direction the book took. I wanted to see Lou on a healing journey, not being friendly with Will’s long-lost teenage daughter. No, thank you.

9780349414256-328x480The Hating Game by Sally Thorne was a refreshing read. The romance was fun and the characters were real and this was a great way to get out of a slump. I’m not planning to review this due to some mature content that I skipped through (I’m not a fan of the smutty stuff, I’m here for the rest of it).

33158561Another book this month was Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore. This had a very interesting concept but was altogether much too slow for me to handle. I’m a fan of much more fast-paced story telling, and while the flowery writing was beautiful, it put me to sleep in the end.

coverBizarre Romance was written by Audrey Niffenegger (author of the Time Traveler’s Wife) and was basically the weirdest, creepiest book I’ve ever read in my life. It was a series of short stories, some illustrated by Eddie Campbell, and they were freaking weird, dude. And not a good kind of weird, like a twisted kind of weird. It left me with a gross feeling in the pit of my stomach and ultimately, I left the last three stories unread because I couldn’t take it anymore. I won this ARC in a giveaway so I don’t know if I would have ever picked this up on my own. If you like wacky, out-of-this-world stories that end abruptly and creep you out, check this out.

51irO0dsQDLAnother (slightly less) creepy book I read was the Coraline graphic novel. I never liked this movie as a kid and thought it was way too dark, but I recently read The Graveyard Book, another graphic novel by Neil Gaiman, that I loved. So I figured I’d give this another shot, and if I ended up liking it, I told myself I’d try to watch the movie again now that I’m older. It was still quite creepy but without the Tim Burton vibes, it was much more tolerable. I didn’t enjoy this as much as The Graveyard Book but I’m glad I tried it out.

eliza-and-her-monstersEliza and Her Monsters was one I’ve been pretty excited to read and ended up having mixed feelings about it. I’m planning to review this soon, but I’m still trying to make up my mind about it.

DIG017563_1._SX1280_QL80_TTD_I read two more graphic novel/comics this month, the first being Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader. This was actually and incredibly enjoyable and powerful Batman read which surprised me. I can’t say a whole lot about it, only that if you’re even remotely a DC or Batman fan that you should check it out.

9781250078285And the last book that I completed this month was Gone Rogue, the second volume in the Wire and Nerves graphic novel series. I absolutely loved these books and am so sad to see them end! Iko was such a fun character to get to know better and I’m just so thrilled with the way everything played out and ended. What another lovely installment in the Lunar Chronicles world!

There you have it folks, my ridiculous monthly wrap-up! I can’t wait to see what the rest of you have read in February! Let me know in the comments below. For now, have a great day!

BOOK REVIEW: Neil Gaiman “The Graveyard Book” Graphic Novels Volume I & II

Title: The Graveyard Book Graphic Novels Volume I & II

Author: Neil Gaiman

Adaptator: P Craig Russell

Illustrator(s): Kevin Nowlan, P Craig Russell, Tony Harris, Scott Hampton, Galen Showman, Jill Thompson, Stephen B Scott, David Lafuente

Genre: Fantasy/Horror

My Rating: 5/5 stars

 

The only exposure I’ve had to Neil Gaiman before this was Trigger Warning and Norse Mythology, both excellent representations but both collections of short stories. I’ve had about the same amount of experience with graphic novels; nonetheless, I was excited about this read.

Full disclosure, I have not actually read The Graveyard Book, but I fully intend to now. I never knew what it was about and just happened to see both volumes of the graphic novel edition at my library, so I didn’t think it would hurt to pick it up. Selfishly, I also know that graphic novels tend to be quick reads and I was thinking about my 100 book reading goal for 2018, but we won’t get into that.

The Graveyard Book is a story about a little boy, affectionately named Nobody Owens, who was raised by ghosts in a graveyard. The rest of his family had been murdered, so the inhabitants of the nearby cemetery take it upon themselves to protect the infant boy and keep him safe.

The only not-dead resident of the graveyard is Silas, who is presumably a vampire but I’m not sure if we’re ever expressly told this. I think it was more implied, and based on his illustrated form, I think it’s safe to come to this conclusion. Since Silas is the only one who can come and go from the graveyard as he pleases, he becomes Nobody’s (nicknamed Bod) guardian, bringing back food, clothing, and other things needed to take care of a growing boy.

This story follows Bod as he grows up in the graveyard and the people that take care of him. We watch him develop and learn new things, watch him make friends, mostly with ghosts, sometimes with humans. We can see how his upbringing has affected him and has made him a more naïve, yet more interesting, person. Bod is curious and brave, but he also likes to get into trouble. We get to follow him on those adventures, too.

Neil Gaiman is oh so creative and this story is unique, special, breathtaking at times, heartbreaking at times, and all-around mesmerizing and beautiful. I truly loved basically every moment of this story. I loved Bod’s interactions with the other ghosts, particularly his relationship with Silas. I loved seeing this entirely new world of the dead and seeing how Bod and others react to it. I loved the mystery surrounding Bod’s family’s deaths. Throughout the story, we get the impression that their murderer is still searching for Bod, and we’re left to wonder why.

As for the illustrations, each chapter or section of the book was done by a different artist. The color scheme remained the same, and basic character’s traits, but the drawings each had a unique look to them which made the reading experience all the more interesting.

This was an absolutely beautiful adaptation of what I assume is a work of art. I’m so excited to read The Graveyard Book but until then, I highly recommend this version.

 

Neil Gaiman: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads