BOOK REVIEW: Sam Hooker “Peril in the Old Country”

41HN8lZHsxLTitle: Peril in the Old Country

Author: Sam Hooker

Genre: Dystopian/Fantasy

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 

This is a very strange book, but absolutely perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman or Douglas Adams. It’s quirky; the dialogue is sharp and witty, and there are a plethora of fun and interesting characters.

The story itself was interesting but the writing was odd. Not necessarily bad, but could be off-putting. Some of the language used borders on pretentious if I’m honest, and the prose a bit flowery. I wish the plot had moved along at a better pace, but otherwise this was very silly and easy to get into.

I also find the cover extremely adorable; very Tim Burton-esq. I expected the content to be a little darker based on the cover art, but I’m not complaining! I think it was very fitting.

An e-copy of this book was provided by Black Spot Books and Smith Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for a review. Thank you!

 

Purchase the book: Amazon | Black Spot Books

Meet the author: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

BOOK REVIEW: Carolyn Gross “Domani”

9780692979419Title: Domani

Author: Carolyn Gross

Genre: Science Fiction

My Rating: 2.5/5 stars

 

Lulu knew the people of Dalia deserved to live in darkness. The knowledge existed in her bones as surely as she knew that the flames were coming to end their existence.

She stood hidden in the crowd gathered before the steps of the Sanctuary as she did every day to hear the doyen speak. The doyen spoke of hope in a world shrouded in darkness by the enormous gas planet spinning above it. That planet protected Dalia from the raging fires of a sun positioned too close to sustain life. But their protector planet was shifting away from them and the shadow that once sheltered them was disappearing.

The doyen normally told calming sermons to a beleaguered and frightened people, but this time was different. He would tell them that their destruction was assured. Before he could, he would have to survive an assassination attempt.

Lulu was the only one who could see it.

The strength and power Lulu discovers about herself will place her at the head of a massive uprising that will span across an entire galaxy. Will she become the catalyst needed to destroy the empire that created her?

My thoughts:

I struggle sometimes with reading science fiction because it can be so bizarre that it’s difficult to picture the world being described. There are a few that have managed to grab me and suck me in, but generally I find myself lost and confused.

Sadly, this was the same with Domani. Carolyn Gross had an intriguing idea, and I was definitely interested in the story she was trying to tell. Yet from the very first pages, with brows furrowed and brain jumbled, I felt like I was thrown into the story with very little explanation or background. I had so many questions and it was hard to follow, especially since there’s immediate action… and the book just moved on without me.

Gross is a promising author and I would be very interested to see her try either another genre or a more fleshed out science fiction world. However, Domani fell flat for me.

Special thanks to the author and Smith Publicity for sending me a copy for review!

 

Carolyn Gross: Goodreads